Sunday, November 30, 2008

scary...

I just came back from the rotary weekend in Zermatt but I`m really tired so I`ll write about that later. I just wanted to write that on the train ride back, we were a town away from my stop when we slowed down and then stopped and I didn`t know what was happening until a few minutes later when they said over the loudspeaker that we had hit someone. Then a little later the conductor came on over the speaker and said we had to wait and they didn`t know when we could leave, and he sounded like he had been crying, it was sooooo sad! :( so we were there for about 50 minutes, and I guess the police came, and then finally we starting moving again. Thankfully I was with someone else, Jane also from California, otherwise it would`ve been worse. But it was really sad and kind of shocking. Thankfully we didn`t feel anything when we stopped, we didn`t come to a screeching halt, if we had that would have been scarier. Anyways, I`m skipping P.E. tomorrow morning so I can sleep in, but I still have to get up at 8:00 so tschüss for now!
aug

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

just a quick note

alright two things, first, there`s snow again, and a lot more than last time. I`m also not sure if it`s going to leave. And because of this wonderful snow and ice and all, I slipped twice yesterday at school :P. Hahah it actually really hurt but whatever, now I walk at a snail`s pace just to make sure I don`t embarrass myself again ;).
Second, the other day I started the language course, and afterwards a few of us went to SUBWAY(!!) for lunch. It`s the ONLY subway in switzerland :P and OMG is it expensive. I got a 6 in. sub, and it was about 9.40 CHF, so basically the same in dollars. but it was really good nonetheless.
anyways I`m in school now, and I`ll probably have to go soon, so tschüss for now and Happy Thanksgiving!! :)

Thursday, November 20, 2008

catching up...

Alrighty, so I`m sorry I haven`t written for a while, I just seem to forget about it :/. But I will try to catch you up on everything that`s going on. Last week my history class went to the Rhätische Museum (I think that`s the right spelling) in Chur and learned about the Gypsies of Switzerland, however I don`t remember what they`re called. The woman was speaking swiss german the whole time so I hardly understood anything. But there were a lot of pictures and examples of the tools they use and their clothes. I guess they also speak their own language. It`s a type of swiss german I think, but it`s really hard to understand that it`s basically considered it`s own language.

Right now in school I`m trying the French and Spanish classes to see if I want to take either of them. I really like the Spanish class so I think I`m gonna stick to that one, but I`m not so sure about the French. The class is really nice, but it would be everyday and it`s an intensive course so since I`m joining about 3 months after they started I feel pretty behind. Other than that, school`s going well, I met another exchange student in my school, he`s from Finland, and I guess there`s also a guy from India or Sri Lanka but I haven`t met him yet. Neither of them are through Rotary though. This Saturday I`m starting an intensive German course(another one, in Zürich again) and at the end there`s going to be a big test and then a certificate. I think it`s a really good opportunity because Rotary is paying for it all, thankfully because it`s pretty expensive, but also the certificate can really help later on and if I would decide later to get a certificate like this, it would most likely cost a lot more. So that`s starting, it will basically be every Saturday, until March, with a few taken off here and there, and I think there`s a possibility that it`ll also be on one day during the work week. And it`ll be nice to see other exchange students more regularly again, because it`s been a while since we`ve all hung out.

On Thanksgiving, Rotary is having their advent dinner and I`ve been invited to join them. So I think that should be really nice.
Oh ya! hehe, last Thursday I did my presentation for Rotary, I felt all calm and not nervous at all, until I actually got up in front of everyone ;) I kept stumbling over words and pronouncing them wrong, and all I was doing was reading form the power point basically. But I think it was alright overall, at least it`s over with :). anyways, next weekend we`re going to Zermatt/the Matterhorn, for a Rotary weekend with all of the exchange students. I`m really looking forward to it. :)
Well, other than that, I`m changing families on Dec. 6th I think, so pretty soon. Kind of sad but kind of happy as well, I think it`ll be nice to finally have some host siblings, and to be able to speak more German. I also want to practice swiss german hehe but that`s not as important I don`t think.
Anyways, I think that`s about it for right now, I`ll try to be better about writing, I know I keep saying that but I really will :P.

ciao!