Thursday, October 23, 2008

October in Switzerland

well, i have to say, autumn here is really pretty. most trees have already changed color and there are leaves all over the ground. and the weird thing is, that the last couple of days, i`ve noticed a lot of christmas stuff was already out in shops, decorations and everything, maybe it`s just me but i find that a bit early. :P anyways, don`t have too much to write, so ciao!

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Thanksgiving

well, I have made quite a few canadian friends here, and one thing I`ve learned from them is that canada has a thanksgiving as well, with turkey and the works. However theirs was yesterday, but I think some will celebrate ours because then they`ll have more time to prepare. ;) Another thing I`ve learned from them is that only people from one little part of canada say "about" weird, and they find it annoying when people say, "say about!" haha anyways, I`m looking forward to thanksgiving, I think one of the americans is having canned pumpkin sent over, so that`ll be nice, because I don`t know what their canned pumpkin supply is like here, and we all know how wonderful pumpkin pie made right from a pumpkin tastes like! :P hha anyways, g2g,
ciao!

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Russian Thementage

Well, I found out the other day that I can take Russian for my main subject, so I`m really excited about that :). This week from Wednesday to Friday, we had "Thementage", or theme days, which is basically where you spend the whole day with your class from your main subject, Schwerepunktfach, and do different things regarding what you`re studying. So yesterday we watched a Russian film, not much of which I understood; the teacher was translating it into German for the rest of the class, so I picked up a little from there but it`s still over my head, what`s going on ;). Today, we went to Zürich and went to a translation agency and talked to some of the people there. Then we went to the Russian consulate and the man there spoke to us for a long time. What I could understand was interesting. After being in that environment, I have no more doubts that that field is what I want to pursue. ;) After we finished the meeting we went to a Russian book store, which was nice, and then a Russian grocery store, which I really liked. I`m definitely going back there soon. :) It was pretty small, but it was unlike any store I`ve ever been to before, I mean, it just felt different in there, like I was actually in Russia :P. okay, that sounds weird, anyways, I bought this lemonade type of drink there, it tasted really strange! I also tried the famous Russian drink "Kvas" which is made from bread. It tasted kind of like molasses. I thought it was an alcoholic drink like beer, but the woman at the store said it was alcohol free, so I don`t know...but it was better than the lemon drink I had. :( Anyways, tomorrow we are cooking, I`m not sure what, so I`ll write about that afterwards. Right now, I need to sleep :). ahah
ciao!