Sunday, August 31, 2008

Bad Ragaz Cave....

Today we went to bad ragaz(bahd rahgahts) and we walked up to the caves where there are hot springs. they were discovered in the 8th century, and have been used for health purposes since about the 16th century i believe. it was hot and humid on the way up, but when we got in the canyon it dropped probably at least 20 degrees. and then when we were in the caves it was really hot again. it was so beautiful and interesting, i took some pictures but it was really dark so theyre not as good as i wanted them to be. after the walk we went for a coffee at one of the restaurants(the coffee`s so good here! :>) bad ragaz is also a very nice town, its famous for golf.

well, as for other things, I seem to be understanding german better, and a little swiss german. I still have two weeks left with the german course, Ill be sad when its over, because i like seeing the other exchange students everyday, even though rotary doesnt really encourage that :P I found out the other day that i only live about 30 minutes from italy! so i really want to go soon. and i only live 15 minutes from liechtenstein, and probably to same from austria. so i cant wait until i can travel more outside of CH. :) (oh, i found out that CH stands for Confoederatio Helvetica, the latin name for switzerland, i had been wondering :P) anyways, time to help with dinner. I hope i won`t wait so long until writing again, who knows :)

Bern

alrighty, so I know I havent written for a really long time, I just dont really have time. But I do now, so Ill right about my adventures yesterday :).
Well, for starters, I met two other girls in Zürich and then we took the train together to Bern, and we were to meet other people there. However, when we got to the station(huge and confusing!!) we didnt see them, so we called them bunches of times to get directions and spent almost an hour walking around the outside of the station looking for them..... but we finally met up. :P we walked around and stood at this clock, waiting for it to be 1 because supposedly it was supposed to do something amazing. so there was a big group of people waiting and when it turned 1 all that happened was part of it turned. we were standing next to an american couple and the guy was like "is that it? what the hell? Im so embarrassed.." it was kind of funny, because people had their cameras all ready, it was a nice clock it just didnt do anything. but after that we headed to the bear pit, its a pit with a real bear in it, i got so depressed. the bear was just moping about walking in circles, it looked really sad. :(
However, bern is a really beautiful city, and the river is very blue and clear. we all went up to the top of one of the churches, and it had an amazing view of the river and city. outside of the church there were a lot of old restored cars. they were so neat! :) i guess that kind of thing is popular here. oh, so theres this statue kind of in the center of bern, and its a man eating a baby, and holding more babies! i have no idea the story behind it, but i have to find out. its just a little creepy :P. heres a link to a picture:
the train back from bern to zürich was packed. people were sitting on the steps, and the aisles were filled with people, the three of us had to stand/sit on the floor. i didnt know it got like that. Karen thought it was probably because of the madonna concert in zürich. most likely. madonna`s really big here :P
overall, it was really fun, i really want to go back to bern and discover more of it.
Ill write about today on another post, this one is too long :P

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Biking adventure...

So, on tuesday Karen and I set out on a bike ride to Bad Ragaz. shortly after heading out, however, I had to stop suddenly and I ended up flying over the handle bars, :P well, actually it wasnt funny at the time, i landed on my chin(I might post pics later..) but after waiting a little bit i decided that we should continue on our ride, so we rode around along the rhein, it was very nice, and as we got to the end of the path, Werner had set up a little picnic for us, it was so cute! :)
Today Karen and I went to Zürich, but Ill write about that later, im too tired right now, :P
the language course starts monday! :)
tschuess!

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Swiss Bank Account

Today Karen(my host mom), Adrian(district YEO), and I went into Chur and set up my bank account. it was fun getting a famous swiss bank account :P. afterwards Karen and I walked around the old town of Chur, which has been around for about 700 years! the buildings were really beautiful with old paintings on them. i have found, that i dont know as much german as i thought i did, lol. but ive been surprised that i can pick up a lot of words in swiss german, which i didnt really expect to happen right away. im looking forward to the camp though, and meeting the other students, im hoping to be comfortable enough with german before school starts. ;P we,ll see though...
i dont seem to be effected much by jet lag, except last night it took me hours to fall asleep. :( but i havent been very tired in the day so, thats been nice. :) sorry thats probably not very interesting, i guess ive run out of things to say ;) anways!
bis bald!

Monday, August 4, 2008

Finally in Switzerland! :)

Hey everyone!
well, first i have to say that this computer is hiding the apostrophe key from me so forgive the absense of it. ;)
well, the plane ride was really long, and about 90% of the passengers were dutch, in fact, the stewardess first spoke to me in dutch.
as we were flying into zürich, i could tell from the sky that everything was very clean, i know this sounds really corny, but the villages were almost sparkling. ;P and the freeways are just surrounded by greenery and its amazing! there is graffiti here though, lol, :)
my first family lives in Malans, and my other two families live in Chur, so Ill be living here until december. it is a beautiful town, and very small and quaint. the house is right next to one of the vineyards. i guess its really common for people to have private vineyards. and some of them are pretty small, maybe about 1/2 an acre.
ive been on the computer for a while checking my email, and all, and i should probably be going back upstairs, so sorry about the short entry! there should be more exciting stuff happening soon, this is only my first full day here at the house.
so, ill write more when i have more free time and more to say :)